This is our Tree

This is a picture of our Christmas tree. Don’t you like it? Doesn’t it look pretty, all straightened up in the stand, with strings of lights untangled and draped on it, and ornaments carefully placed?

Wait, it gets better. Not only is our tree not in the stand or decorated, it’s not even at our house yet. It really is out here, somewhere, on this lot.

I stopped by the church where we always get our tree and took some pictures yesterday. I love the fire in the drum, the little wooden shack, the friendly guys who always help us trim our tree and tie our trunk lid shut. (I really liked them when they used to serve hot chocolate!!)

I think this whole scene feels like it could be transported to a small town such as Wendall, the made-up town in Winter Wish, and maybe that is partly why I like it.

I wasn’t quite sure why I was taking pictures yesterday.Because I like the scene? Because I was avoiding other items on my to-do list? Because I thought taking a picture of a tree we haven’t bought yet was some kind of a metaphor?

I did kind of think that last thing, but I gave up trying to write about it. I think it was something to do with trying to keep things simple, with trying not to overdo.

I have been battling a cold for two weeks, and it has set me way behind where I had hoped to be this time of year. But it is also forcing me to keep things simple, or at least more simple than I might have otherwise. And that is actually sort of okay with me.

So for now I will accept that I haven’t gotten many things done lately, and I will be grateful that I am starting to feel better. Soon enough, I’m sure we’ll get our tree. Soon enough, I will have to watch my tendency to get too busy and to hurry. But I’m going to try for a little simplicity here and there, whenever I can.

About Dixie Minor

A wife, mother, former Teacher, and the author of Winter Wish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This is our Tree

  1. Cheryl Wagnon says:

    Simplicity..sounds so simple but so hard to achieve!! I need the ump to blow a whistle, call time out and stop the madness !

  2. dixieminor says:

    I am sorry the picture didn’t come through! If you click on the ” trees, JPEG” link at the top of the page, it is there. (Not where I wanted it! But sort of there!)

Leave a Reply

