It’s the Little Things

little things     This morning I am not wanting to “get to it” with my December to-do list. The rain pours down and I love staying in my new flannel pajamas. (My husband bought them for me, quite possibly because he was tired of seeing me in the odd assortment of old flannel and T-shirt combinations I had been wearing.)

Sometimes I feel overwhelmed this time of year, especially if I think of my day as one long to-do list. But if I think of it as moments, I do a little better. And if I find things to enjoy during those moments, I feel better still!

Here are a few of the things I have enjoyed this week, sometimes before and after, and sometimes during, errands and traffic:

1)  Singing softly – at least I hope it was softly – to the Taylor Swift version of “Last Christmas” while waiting in line at old Navy. When I looked up, I realized the girl in front of me was singing too. We shared a smile and a laugh.

2)  Getting into a very friendly argument with the lady in front of me, again at Old Navy, as she insisted I go ahead of her.

3)  Enjoying hearing about the antics of the Elf on the Shelf as shared by my younger friends. There have been a few jokes making the rounds lately, too!

4)  A free sample of See’s candy, chocolate-covered caramel.

5)  Three free samples at Hickory Farms. (Do you see a pattern here?)

6)  Walking through the mall and seeing the remote-control planes and almost laughing at my sudden memory of my mother waking me up one morning on a visit to New York at Christmas. “Dixie, there are some men way down below in the alley, and there’s a little car. Am I crazy? It’s a really little car.”  I looked down to see one of those really BIG remote toys, and from the window in our high-rise hotel, it was a little confusing to watch. My mom and I got tickled; she has a great sense of humor.

7)  Thinking about snow. My sister-in-law, Cathy, is going to send me some snow pictures from Maine tomorrow.

I enjoy focusing on details. When I taught writing to fifth graders, I encouraged them to include details, especially sensory details in their writing. They did a great job!

Maybe focusing on details is a good way to stay in the moment, even when I’m not writing. Honestly? I only manage that sometimes. But I enjoy it when I do!

About Dixie Minor

A wife, mother, former Teacher, and the author of Winter Wish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s the Little Things

  1. Ellen says:

    Life’s message (one Charlie Brown would appreciate): It IS the little things!! Love this, Dixie

Leave a Reply

