Holiday’s End

I took my brother to the airport the other day. I had to get up entirely too early, but it was more than worth it because I got to spend time with my brother (the most important  thing), and because I got to take pictures of the sunrise over the Chattahoochee. This is not something I would likely have been doing without Stephen’s early morning flight time. Not something, in fact,  there is even a remote chance I would have been doing.

It is sad to let people go after the holidays. Go on a plane, like Stephen did, headed first to Maine and then back home to California. Or go back, as grown children do, to their homes, in some cases taking the grandchildren and the toys and the activity mats. Or just go back to work.

I do remember, oh how I remember, this particular Sunday night, the one after New Year’s Day, when I was still teaching. My husband and I would look at each other, and one of us would solemnly state, “It’s over.”

It was hard to jolt our systems back to alarm clocks and rushed cups of coffee and warming the car up early in the morning. But even being retired, I find myself feeling sluggish this time of year, not wanting to get out or move quickly. (And I live in Georgia!! I really am more than a little embarrassed as  I write this, knowing that our “winter weather” is nothing, I mean nothing, compared to what I see on the weather channel. Which I am still watching even though I miss the old way they did the “Local on the 8’s”.)

But even here, and certainly elsewhere, it is winter for sure. The days may be longer, but January doesn’t know that. So I try to prepare myself to do the things that make it possible for me to “do”, and even like, winter.

I bundle up. I put on hats, scarves, gloves, and layers. I have numerous scarves in many colors. Some of them will  really keep me warm, like this one in the picture, which caused a friend of mine to ask me once, “What happened? You started knitting and couldn’t stop?”  Well, no. I don’t knit, at least not now. I wish I knitted!  I don’t know why this scarf is so very long, but it certainly keeps me warm.

I read a lot in the winter, too, and am looking forward to wrapping a blanket around me on the sofa and reading W is for Wasted, a mystery by Sue Grafton tonightscarf. But that will be after “Downton Abbey.” Ah, yes! “Downton Abbey” does return tonight, and that is another winter pleasure. In fact, I hear the music even now, and I type ever faster, trying to finish in time to find out what will happen on the set now that we have lost Matthew.

I also love to build a fire in the winter, but my husband is a little less enthusiastic about the fire-building than I am. I think he thinks I fiddle with it too much, and that I am obsessed. Me! I can’t imagine how he could ever think such a thing.

I like winter. I really do. But I have to do a little more pushing myself, a little more talking to myself about getting out, walking, and enjoying the season’s offerings than I do at other times of year. And for those of you who are going back to work tomorrow, I hope this winter brings some Snow Days soon!

(I am sorry the picture is in the wrong place, but I really cannot miss any more of Downton Abbey!)

 

About Dixie Minor

A wife, mother, former Teacher, and the author of Winter Wish
This entry was posted in Teaching, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Holiday’s End

  1. T. D. Davis says:

    I love winter too and used to have a house in VT, with wood-burning stove. I also love Downton Abbey. Enjoy the good books, good fire and good drama! 🙂

  2. Anne says:

    Loved Downton Abbey and don’t love the cold weather!! I too, am sluggish about getting back to work. See you tomorrow at lunch, I can finally make it for a change

    • dixieminor says:

      I know what you mean; I was determined to walk (inside) this morning and here it is three o’clock and I still haven’t done it-but I am going in ten minutes! Really!:) I’m so glad you can come tomorrow! We need a little spirit booster!

  3. Ann Johsnon says:

    Hi Dixie, you seem like a great fiddler..;-)

Leave a Reply

