Bright Moments

The last half of this day, this Saturday, was full of sunny, bright, and springlike moments. The first half, not so much. As a matter of fact, most of the week, not so much.

The earlier part of the week held tax preparation. Grey, cold days. Rain, or thin, wan sunlight. Not feeling well due to some medication I am, thankfully, almost finished taking. Did I mention tax preparation? I learned something though. Putting off printing everything you need for a whole year until the last minute? Not a good idea.

I finished up around two o’clock today. I felt like it was time to go out and play! The sun was out, the sky deep blue, the breeze gentle. And the bright moments began.

There was lunch at Waffle House, sausage and a waffle. Honestly, I swear I don’t usually have either of those things. (Normally when I eat at WaHo, I get grilled cheese or eggs. A vastly superior meal, I am sure!) #feelingvirtuous

Next, there was a visit to a park to sit outside in the sun. The sound of the crack of a bat, heralding memories of summer, and of my children. A host – well, maybe more like a bunch – of golden daffodils. And there were people fencing there. I love to watch fencing! It reminds me of the Renaissance Festival, of more memories when the kids were little.( Plus, let’s just face it, fencing is cool!)

When I left the park, I drove home, wondering about things. Like, what are those pretty pink trees that are blooming now called? And were those flowers actually daffodils, or jonquils? And what is the difference? And then, with all the attention span of a flea, I wondered something else: could we go eat lobster tonight? Lobster tails with melted butter? And why are there so many commercials right now about lobster?

Hmmm, here I am blogging about food again. And showing my ignorance of things botanical as well. I hear my own giddiness. It is, or feels like it might be, almost spring. For the first time in days, the weather and I feel sunny at the same time.

And I had time today to write! I had been missing writing. Even as the sun prepares to set, even as we ready ourselves to lose an hour and get up to darker mornings, I am still enjoying the last bright moment of this day.

Having a few hours to work on a new book brings me joy. (I say that, of course, before I hate what I have written.)  And, in fact, it may not even be time to start that first draft yet; I am still making notes, still mulling, planning, dreaming. But I love trying to write, trying to get some of those ideas out. So, I am happy to say, this morning I was finally “on task”, just as I used to encouraged my students to be. And now it is recess!

 

daffodils

About Dixie Minor

A wife, mother, former Teacher, and the author of Winter Wish
This entry was posted in Nature, North Georgia, Teaching, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bright Moments

  1. FRED W & BARBARA W HOOD says:

    I love your new post! Keep doing it! Barbara

    ________________________________

  2. M. R. says:

    Delightful post ! I do think it was clever of you to arrange suitable weather for doing your tax return … 🙂 And I’m happy for you that your writing is underway …

    • Dixie Minor says:

      The weather did go well with my schedule! 🙂 it is amazing how a sunny day after cold and wet lifts the spirits, isn’t it? I am happy to be writing again. I have had a chance to write several days this week, for the first time in quite a while, and I have enjoyed it so much! ( trying not to think too hard about all the problems that will be thee when I begin revising.) 🙂 Thank you so much for following my blog! I know I will enjoy reading yours!

  3. Dixie Minor says:

    Yes, Margaret, let’s hope so! 🙂 I feel very sure I will enjoy yours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

