Spending Time in the Past

I have not blogged in quite a while. I miss it, but I have been spending a lot of time with my eighty-six-year-old dad, at the rehab center, where he is slowly gaining strength after a hospital stay. There is nothing I would rather be doing. He has always been great company, and his humor, memories, and love for all of us, his family and friends, is a treasure.

My dad and I enjoy talking about the past. I love to hear stories I haven’t heard before, or hear again favorite stories I have heard and to reminisce with him  about things we both remember. This love I have for the past, especially as seen through my parents’ eyes, is one of my deepest emotions and it makes me want to write!

This past week I did finally do some writing, snatching little bits of time to make my fourth – and hopefully my final! – start on a new book.  The other efforts were false starts, but as I wrote out these vague ideas I had, they slowly began to form themselves into the beginning of a story. (I think! I hope!)

I had these images in my mind, and memories, and snatches of scenes, but only the very faintest sense of characters. Well, that won’t do! I needed a much better idea of who the main characters are. But now it’s coming. I feel like I know my main characters, and hopefully I will get to know them better! (That’s a good thing, right? Like, kind of important. LOL )

The images I had in my mind as a setting were partly from childhood memories pieced together, of old houses, and of a tree with a swing. I also took pictures of a real house on a street in my town. It was a small, neat, white frame house near railroad tracks.

house

Beside the house was a huge, beautiful tree with a rope swing. I loved to imagine the children who had sat in that swing, the adults who had given them a push.

treeswing

Then one day, the house was empty, for sale, and the swing was gone. The house still hasn’t sold yet, and I took a picture of it recently. I also took a picture of the tree that had held the swing. The house in my book does not look exactly like this one, but it has some of the same characteristics. Old, white, wooden, with a green grassy yard and huge old trees. The main character is very much affected by the sense of the memories and the past that cling to the house.

And in my book, I put the swing back! 🙂

 

About Dixie Minor

A wife, mother, former Teacher, and the author of Winter Wish
This entry was posted in Family, Memories, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Spending Time in the Past

  1. Barbara Hood says:

    What a great blog, Dixie! I can’t wait for your next book to come out. My childhood memories are so rich, I can relate to the big tree with a swing! What wonderful memories you are creating with your dear Dad!

    • Dixie Minor says:

      Thank you so much, Barbara! 💕 I love what you said about your childhood memories being so rich. I find myself returning there often, for joy and comfort, and these days for ideas when I write. I am loving this time with y dad, and you are right; the memories are precious!

  2. simon682 says:

    I miss talking to my father. He still pops up in my writing and I feel him around quite often. Good luck to yours on his recovery. And good luck with those ideas.

    • Dixie Minor says:

      Thank you, Simon! I am glad to hear that you feel your dad around quite often. I have felt that sense before, with my grandparents, and with my son, who passed away in an automobile accident in ’99. I love it when other people share that they have experienced that. I can’t remember if I told you how much my mother liked your blog! Her ancestors – and so, some of mine too! 😊 – were from Scotland. I shared some of your posts with her one day while we sat with my dad.

  3. Fingers crossed that the story starts coming together! And I’m glad to hear your dad is gaining his strength back, he does truly sound like a treasure. 🙂 -Kate

    • Dixie Minor says:

      Thank you so much, Kate! I really appreciate that! By the way, I loved Pistils!! I finished it a few days ago, and I thought it was great!! I am hoping to do an Amazon review soon, so I can say more of the wonderful things I liked about it!

  4. M-R says:

    Lovely about your Dad, Dixie – you know how fortunate you are, don’t you ? I lost mine when he was 64; and he was a father truly beloved of four of his five daughters.

  5. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you, M-R! 💗 Yes, I do think I am very lucky. I do love my dad so much and cherish this time with him. I am so sorry you lost your dad when he was only 64. While I have been spending time with him, I was able to do some reading while he slept. I finished reading And Then Like My Dreams, and the book meant so much to me. It was truly wonderful. I am hoping to write an Amazon review soon, but I know I won’t be able to do it justice! But I will try!

  6. bkpyett says:

    Dixie, am thrilled that you have started on your next novel. I look forward to reading it when the time is right! Enjoy these precious times with your parents.

  7. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you, Barbara! I have only written three chapters so far, but al least I think I’m finally getting somewhere! I really look forward to reading yours too! Thank you for your kind thoughts for my parents.

  8. How very exciting! Are you going to dedicate the book to your dad? It sounds like it’s going to be an awesome story. 😀

  9. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you so much!! 😊 That is a great idea!! 😍

  10. sueslaght says:

    Very heartwarming to hear about your relationship with your Dad and that you still enjoy each others company. A true gift.

  11. That’s great you put it back. =) So precious for you to be able to spend time with Dad. I can feel your love for him. Hope he’s coming along. Thank you for the visits in the midst of obligations and busyness.

    Xxx,
    HW

  12. pattywryle says:

    You write with such vivid description of a time that is simple. Thank you for helping us to remember. So proud of you, Dixie.

  13. Dixie Minor says:

    Patty, thank you so much! I love remembering all the things we did together. Love you! ❤

Leave a Reply

