Summer’s Busy Days

fire trail treesSummer’s days have not always seemed busy. But this year they have. Busy and full and rich, for the most part. Or busy and. . . well, just busy.

When I was a child, the days in summer seemed long and loose and golden. Endless. Later, as a teacher, I thought they still seemed long, but green with early morning’s promise, bright with exquisite choices – leisurely coffee? the lake with my children? lunch with a friend? The months, now, that was a different story. The days may have been long, but the months . . . the months were short, compressed and compact. Mini-months.

Now, even though I am retired, summer months stand bookended by the rest of the year. Set apart as exceedingly precious. I watch my younger friends and neighbors take their children to pools, to grandparents, to the library – and I remember. I savor night song of cicadas and tree frogs, the fragrance of mimosa trees, the sight in stores and markets of berries and melons and fresh shelled peas.

This summer there have been a lot of things I haven’t gotten to do.  Although I have been able to write, some, it hasn’t been as often as usual. (And unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, I am somehow trying to write two books. How did that happen?! Who, me, not focus? LOL. . . )

But I haven’t blogged since June 26th and haven’t been able to read and comment and “like” – (sorry, M-R! smiles) – my blogging friends’ posts nearly as often as I like to.

Haven’t cooked as much as I want to. . . haven’t continued on my decluttering path. . . haven’t – well, you get the drift! (I am really sad to say I haven’t even been in the water!!! But that will be fixed this week!) But all of the things I haven’t done are in part because of the things I have.

One of those things is spending time outside. Summer beckons us out. I am finally getting back in the habit again of walking outside in the mornings. Thanks to my brother, Stephen, I rediscovered my love of walking near Kennesaw Mountain. It’s sooo nice. . . as long as you don’t wait too late in the day, that is! July in Georgia is no joke!

Here are a few pictures from near Kennesaw Mountain. I hope to keep spending time there in the mornings – and I  hope to somehow add more “summer things” into these days. Before they go flying by any faster!

big tree trail

fire trail arch

About Dixie Minor

A wife, mother, former Teacher, and the author of Winter Wish
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Summer’s Busy Days

  1. Randy Simpson says:

    Dixie, you are so cool! Keep on going girl!!!

  2. M-R says:

    For what ? – oh, you’re teasing me about ‘likes’ ! Grrrrr … 😉
    You know, I did enjoy your book, Dixie: it’s just that at my age it’s really difficult to be able to write about a YA novel. I am very happy to state that it is well written, and easy to read; but the environment is one I can’t relate to and so can’t … comment on, I suppose. But for me to have read the whole book is in itself a huge recommendation; for I haven’t been able to read another book in something like a year: I’ve lost ability to concentrate, and am constantly being distracted by ludicrous things. Therefore, consider your writing HIGHLY complimented !!!!!!

    • Dixie Minor says:

      Thank you SO MUCH, M-R! It means so much to me that you read it!! Those days were a looong time ago for me, LOL! I don’t knwo why I am so drawn to writing about that time period. . . my son says I am immature 🙂 (He says it lovingly – I think! 🙂 ) thank you again so much for reading it; that means A LOT to me! ❤

  3. bkpyett says:

    i loved all of the summer senses you evoked! Great to hear that you are writing 2 books, not 1!!
    Those walks sound perfect, to get in some exercise before the heat of the day. Enjoyed seeing where you walk too. 🙂

    • Dixie Minor says:

      Thank you, Barbara! You are writing more than one book too, aren’t you? The children’s books and Enduring Threads? I think it somehow keeps me moving; if I bog down in one, there’s always the other. ?? 🙂

  4. When the summertime calls you just got to go with it 🙂 Beautiful photos!

  5. Barbara Hood says:

    Beautiful, descriptive writing! You are so gifted!

  6. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you, Barbara, so much! It was wonderful to see you yesterday and to hear you and Mom play. I will be looking forward to the 18th!! ❤

  7. pattywryle says:

    So nice, Dixie. So well written.

  8. Dixie Minor says:

    Patty,thank you!! So much!!! Love you!!

  9. Lovely photos and even lovelier description of your experience of time.

    Xxx
    Diana

  10. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you so much, Diana! The older I get, the faster it goes!!!
    Xxx,
    Dixie

  11. And now, here’s August. Enjoy the summer, Dixie. There will be plenty of down time to write later. Be well.

  12. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you so much, Maggie. That is good advice!! I need to go with the summer flow! 🙂

  13. That is a lovely place to walk. I know exactly what you mean about summers and strolling, too. Sometimes, when I’ve finished my tutoring and meetings, I just walk the 5 miles home through the woods in Daejeon (a city in central South Korea). It’s always late at night and there’s something so soothing about the loudest sounds coming from crickets. 🙂

    • Dixie Minor says:

      I know; sometimes the more racket they make, the better! Summer is almost over, and even though fall is my favorite season, I hate to see summer end. It is such a full time. Thank you so much for visiting and commenting!

  14. simon682 says:

    I loved the sense of summer in this. I too watch younger people in the summer and remember. I’ve also recently bought your book and though there are a number of other books ahead of it on the list at the moment, I look forward to reading it.

  15. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you so much, Simon! I am so honored that you bought my book and appreciate it very much!! 🙂 It is almost unbearably hot right now here, but still I’m not ready for summer to be over! The light and warmth and knowing people are having outdoor fun. I’m savoring it!

  16. pattywryle says:

    Such beautiful photographs and can’t wait to read the words!

  17. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you so much, Patty! I know you know all the places for the photos like the back of your hand. You found them for us, all those years ago, with your friendship with Clyde! I am so happy you are going to start blogging again an look forward to it!

Leave a Reply

