Morning Mist

imageThis morning I headed out early. I mean real early. I woke up at four-thirty and got up shortly after. Around eight,  I decided I might as well drive on up to Red Top Mountain, one of my favorite places.

I’ll confess: I got coffee at Dunkin’ Donuts first. And a donut, a pumpkin donut. Then I headed up the road.

I had planned to write a blog about fall and take some pictures to go with it. Not very original, I know, but I do love fall. And being awake in time to see the early morning sunshine on the first sunny day we have had in a while was exhilarating.

I thought I would take some pictures of fiery maple leaves catching the sun. Of the bright turquoise water and the blue, blue sky. Of dewdrops sparkling in the still-wet grass.

But this is what I got. image

And this. image

A misty morning. The woods around the lake seemed hushed and the mist on the water ghostly and mysterious.

I was reminded of one quarter in college – (we still had quarters back then in the er, um,  70’s) – when my roommate was studying in Germany and I lived with some friends, at Furman University, on campus in a building called “the shack.” Living at the shack was a privilege reserved for seniors, and such a good time we had. The shack looked kind of like a log cabin, smelled faintly of wood smoke, and was all the way across the lake from the regular dorms.

Each morning I would walk across the lake on the footbridge, either to my first class or to “cold breakfast.” (I never made it up in time for “hot breakfast.”) Many mornings mist floated above the water, shrouding my path in mystery. I love mornings – although my husband might disagree because I do not wake up exactly cheerful – but these mornings, especially, I have never forgotten.

Like snow, in a way, mist seems to make familiar surroundings look different. Perhaps they seem a bit strange, often magical. The difference, to me, seems in some ways promising. Who knows what this day will hold?

By the time I left, the mist was burning off and the water sparkled in the sun. I headed back to the “real world” actually glad I had woken up at such an early hour.

 

image

image

 

 

 

 

About Dixie Minor

A wife, mother, former Teacher, and the author of Winter Wish
This entry was posted in Nature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Morning Mist

  1. FRED W & BARBARA W HOOD says:

    Always enjoy reading what you write!

    Barbara

  2. Dixie Minor says:

    Barbara, thank you soo much! 😍💗

  3. bkpyett says:

    Another Barbara! Lovely misty photo Dixie and I always enjoy your post too! 🙂

  4. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you, Barbara! I really appreciate that! ❤ i see another Barbara on your page often too, and I think I am following her now. Maybe. ? 😉 🙂

  5. pattywryle says:

    What an incredible photograph. Will read the blog later. Glad you’re writing.Patty

  6. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you, Patty! I’m glad you’re writing too! 🙂 ❤

  7. M-R says:

    But, Dixie – these photos are SENSATIONAL !!! I don’t know that I’ve ever seen such a collection speaking softly and beautifully of early morning on a lake where mist is king …
    When you talk of your college days, it reminds me of your delightful book – although your heroine was just pre-college, I know: I think that period of your life must have been a joy retained …

    • Dixie Minor says:

      M-R, thank you! So much! That means so much to me, especially coming from you! I love that phrase “where mist is king” – beautiful! I love the way you write! 🙂 I think you are right about that period of my life. I think during that time I tender to think anything was possible. And now I try to think, well, maybe Some Things are possible. Or maybe I just let the young ones think that way and live vicariously, haha. 🙂

  8. Lovely pictures. I love the ambience and gradual changes from mist to sunlight.

    I hope you find a reason to enjoy all your mornings.

    Just have one good reason to wake up everyday.

    You’ve a blessed woman.

  9. Dixie Minor says:

    M-R, thank you so much! ❤ ❤

  10. Topaz says:

    I love morning mist. It gives the world such a magical feeling, no?

  11. Love these, especially the first one. It was also interesting to hear about your college reminiscence! I am not necessarily a morning person but if I had a place or scene like this, I would definitely make it there at dawn!

  12. jannatwrites says:

    This looks like a beautiful place! It’s funny when we set out thinking we’ll see one thing and we find something completely different. And it’s an added bonus when it brings back memories of another time in our lives 🙂

    • Dixie Minor says:

      Thank you so much! It is really a pretty place, no matter what the weather or time of year, but I got lucky that morning with the surprise mist! 🙂 You are right; certain things can treally bring back memories, and to me, fall is the season that does that the most! It’s probably different for everyone. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog!

  13. Those are beautiful photos! I love the morning mist on the water, too. It’s so ethereal and majestic. It makes the whole scene look different. And your college memories were great! Thank you for sharing! ❤

  14. Dixie Minor says:

    Thank you so much, Rachel! I have really enjoyed your Goosebumps theme!

Leave a Reply

